Past and Present – The Picture Palace

The Picture Palace, Stratford Road, Wolverton on the left shows the Palais de Danse starring Mabel Poulton, possible date late 1920’s

The old Picture Palace, Stratford Road, Wolverton currently the home to the Faith Dimensions Ministries, picture taken in 2010

This entry was posted in Archive, Heritage, Living Archive, Places, Wolverton. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Past and Present – The Picture Palace

  1. Pauline says:

    I can remember it as a cinema, but I remember it better as a dance hall. I remember going there after the Wolverton Carnival on a Saturday Night, I was about 13 or 14 at the time and my friend and I went there. The old seats from the cinema were still there in the balcony! They used to have a live group there I think but I can’t remember who it was, but it was a long time ago about 1965! I think the cinema closed in 1961. I remember the Empire Cinema more as we used to go there alot, every Friday Night, it was in Church Street.

Leave a Reply

