Wagon Shop and Carriage Repairs

The wagon shop and carriage repairs was built in 1882.   It is a large building  with 5 gable roof ends. The wagon under frames came in the shop from the frame shop all wagons are built in 3 stages.  Stage 1 is the laying of the floor. Stage 2 is the building the ends and sides. Stage 3 is the hanging of the doors and doing the roof. The carriage repair shop is for the repair of all damaged carriages. Some time in the 1960s this shop then became the the east repair shop which undertook the repair of emu coded units water tanks, also various components are painted and polished at benches sited on the north west corner of the shop.

About Phillip

I enjoy drawing/sketching in my spare time. I became a volunteer at Living Archive through being greatly interested in the history of Wolverton railway works, I have always had an interest in the works from a young boy as my grandpa worked in the offices. To me the history of Wolverton Railway Works is such an extraordinary and amazing thing. I am also michael jacksons biggest fan and have been from the age of 5
This entry was posted in Living Archive. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment